WordPress 2.3 and EventCalendar3

I use the EventCalendar3 plugin to manage and display future events on my blog. It’s almost indispensable. As a chronic and impatient upgrader, I rushed and upgraded my WordPress self hosted blog to 2.1 only to find it the EventCalendar plugin broke. WordPress changed it’s category query format which broke the plugin. The EC3 development team did a great job of getting a fix out quickly and addressed the core change.

I do a little more homework now when it comes to major WordPress releases. Well, WordPress 2.3 is a couple of weeks away from release so I took a look at the EventCalendar script considering the planned changes in the database schema. Sure enough, it looks like the elimination of the post2cat table will break EventCalendar3. Again, my review was far from complete but I won’t be hitting the WordPress 2.3 bandwagon until I know EventCalendar3 will work.

WordPress 2.3 Database Schema Changes

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.