Chopard L.U.C. Sport 2000 Review

Some time ago, I had posted a wrist shot of my Chopard L.U.C. Sport 2000 and promised to provide a review of the watch. It’s time to make good on the promise.

The Sport 2000 is the smaller and seemingly less popular cousin of the Chopard Pro One. Both feature the same 4.96 caliber. The Pro One has a large rotating bezel and case with a closed back. The Sport 2000 does not have a rotating bezel, has an open back and wears smaller than a typical 40 mm case. I became interested in the Sport 2000 when I wanted to replace my Breitling Headwind which was far too big for me to carry on my relatively small 7 inch wrist. I decided to order the Sport 2000 through my local authorized Chopard dealer about 2 years ago.

The Sport 2000 is rated to 100m depth which is a little rare considering it has an exhibition back. The dial has a diamond guilloche with applied hour indices. There’s plenty of luminescence on the hands and dial so it’s very legible at night. The case is a combination polished (on the sides) and matte (on the bezel). The bezel is relatively wide so it seems pick up more than the occasional light scratch. The date and time are adjustable using the screw down crown. Setting the time is a little tricky because the watch does not “hack” (stop when the crown is pulled out all the way). Also the date function is rather sensitive so it’s easy to change the date inadvertently when you are setting the time.

The caliber 4.96 is the sport version of the famous 1.96 caliber with some notable modifications. The 1.96 has small seconds, a Breguet overcoil, swan neck regulator and is arguably one of the finest finished watches available. The Sport 2000 has a central, indirect seconds hand and is finished to a high level but certainly not close to the 1.96 standard. The 4.96 has two large mainspring barrels and a power reserve of 68 hours or so. The microrotor features a three lobe cam which makes the rotor swing in a less than smooth orbit around the pinion. It’s also a little on the noisy side compared to traditional automatic movements. As with most watches with an indirectly driven seconds hand, the seconds hand may track a bit erratically. When I first got the watch, the seconds hand seemingly paused for short periods and then burst to life. It freaked me out but it did not affect the timekeeping. As the watch broke in, the pauses smoothed out and are no longer noticeable as the tensioning spring under the central bridge has steadied out. Personally, I like these quirks but many collectors are irritated by them.

The movement is a COSC certified chronometer. Its performance remains well within COSC tolerances. The rubber strap is finally showing some wear but that’s to be expected since I wear it on the soccer field and in the water. I had a small problem with the crown unseating itself from the stem so it’s been to Chopard USA for warranty service. I personally dropped it off since Chopard USA is based in New York and had it back within 2 weeks. The service and staff at Chopard USA are absolutely wonderful and very responsive.

In summary, I really enjoy my Sport 2000. It’s an underrated watch and fairly priced in the current market conditions in the USA. I don’t intend to sell it any time soon so if that’s not an endorsement, I don’t know what is.

7 thoughts on “Chopard L.U.C. Sport 2000 Review

  1. I just got one in $5500.the Chopard LUC Sport (Blue Dial w/ Steel Bracelet) can not find ref# . in the booklet there are 16/8200. but the certificate of the watch shows 15/8200. i can not find this ref # from Chopart booklet.
    any one now about this?

    thanks

    • Savvy collectors that are concerned in making money off their collection know that Chopards do not do well in the resale market. I’ve never bought a watch that I intended to sell but that’s just me.

  2. Just stumbled across this. Lovely piece, I have one too 😉

    By the way, how many of this was made? 8,200 pieces?

Leave a Reply

