First Sirius zaps Electronica, Now Music Choice?

It was bad enough when Sirius canned Boombox but now it seems Music Choice has decided to merge their Dance and Electronica channels into one. I used to flip back and forth when there was something on the Electronica channel I didn’t care for but it seems like every time I tune in now, it’s all Dance all the time. What the heck happened to the Electronica? Do they break blocks up during the day?

And what’s up with the MC MixTape? Sounds like a great idea but I’m not sure what to make of it.

5 thoughts on “First Sirius zaps Electronica, Now Music Choice?

  1. I agree it was a bad decision on their part. Putting those two together makes as much sense as mixing R&B with Heavy Metal.

    For me I had the opposite experience when I turned the new merged channel on….it seemed like it was playing all Electronica and no Dance. (Which for me, I didn’t care for.)

    I emailed Music Choice…twice…and let them know in certain harsh terminology what I thought about this, as well as their whole new lineup.

    • Rob…I sent Music Choice an email asking if they were doing block programming (which would explain the ‘one or the other’ experience) on this channel. Haven’t heard back from them but if I do, I’ll post here.

      Thanks for commenting!!

  2. I recently got digital cable again and found that my favorite channel (Electronica) was merged with Dance. I found your posts by googling the topic. I like both styles, but what really gets me is the 8 channels of different hip hop/rap/r&B/oldschoolrap/etc and 3 channels of alternative, but they don’t have enough songs to fill 2 channels of ‘techno’ ? grrr I have also had the experience that all they play is dance, and its not even good dance, its cheap euro vocal dance that college freshmen girls at a club might think is ‘edgy’ but for those of us who have listened to electronica, trance, drumnbass, etc for the last 20 years, it is a huge disappointment.

    I am also crafting an email to Music Choice and to Charter Cable to see if anything can be done.

    glad I’m not the only one irked by all of this.
    DJ Squelchtone

    • Thanks for commenting. Let me know if you hear back from Music Choice. I wrote in and never heard back. Can’t imagine they get so much feedback that they’re buried.

  3. I feel you bro, iVE BEEN LISTENING TO HARD HOUSE AND TRANCE EVER SINCE i WAS 15 YRS OLD NOW IM 28 AND WAS WAITING FOR A CHANNEL THAT ONE DAY WOULD REPRESENT ALL OF US TRUE RAVERS AND NOW WE HAVE THIS CHANNEL AND ITS NOT WHAT iVE BEEN WAITING FOR. IT WOULD BE COOL IF THEY THREW ON MORE OF PAUL VAN DYK, PAUL OAKENFOLD, DJ IRENE, DJ VENOM!!! aLOT OF THIS MUSIC IS WAK THAT THEY HAVE ON. IM PRETTY SURE THAT SOME OF THIS MUSIC THAT COMES ON HERE PEOPLE HEAR AND THINK THERE HARDCORE RAVERS NOW WHEN JUST THE OTHER DAY THEY WERE HIP HOP GANGSTAS

Leave a Reply

