When your WordPress theme isn’t supported anymore

What do you do when your WordPress theme isn’t supported anymore? As WordPress heads for version 2.7 and an overhaul of the comments loop, the theme I use doesn’t look like it will be updated in anticipation of the new version changes. I hope I’m wrong.

Anyway, I had a feeling this day would come so I have to be prepared to roll up my sleeves and work on comments.php to be able to leverage the new functions. Thanks to Otto’s tutorial, I don’t think the task will be too daunting.

I’ve already done a ton of tweaks and modifications to the theme so it works and presents the way I want it to. I don’t want to lose the ‘look and feel’ as well as the time I’ve invested in making the modifications so changing themes isn’t something I’m looking at right now.

Leave a Reply

