SplashID Version 4 for Mac

My favorite (at least it used to be my favorite) password management software has been updated as a universal binary for the Mac. The good news is that it runs in Leopard (requires Tiger as a minimum) and still syncs with the Palm OS. The bad news is I now use a Blackberry which doesn’t play at all with the Mac desktop.

The Blackberry version of SplashID is horrid but I’m going to pin that on the OS rather than the software. I have no real basis for this claim other than SplashID is/was awesome on the Palm OS and ran superbly on both Windows and Mac OS. There is no way to even export the database from the Blackberry. I figure the only way to keep everything updated is to use SplashID version 4’s ability to sync local files natively so theoretically, since I have a Windows box on my home network, I could sync my Blackberry’s SplashID with it using the Blackberry sync function (Windows only) and then have the two desktop version sync over the network. That should be a good way to waste an afternoon trying to get that to work. I’ll report back if I have any luck or any desire to do this.

Update: May 28, 2008 – Guess what? The Mac’s SplashID database is not compatible with the Windows SplashID database so you can not sync a Mac file with a Windows file. Best you can do is export either one as a vID file and import it into the other application. Essentially having a master and clone but no syncing. About a -100 for this ‘feature.’ Thankfully you only have to by one license and you get all the Operating Systems.

Password Management Software – Password Vault Manager – SplashID

Leave a Reply

