Widgetized Admin Dashboard

It’s been a while since I’ve added a new plugin but I really like this one. The new dashboard in WordPress 2.5.x has a lot of bells, whistles and nice functionality to it but there’s a lot of wasted screen real estate, notably my empty incoming links. Then there’s the stats flash which runs a log in screen when the cookie expires.

This plugin lets you take some control over the presentation of the dashboard. For me, that meant dropping the extraneous stuff. +1 for more control.

I experienced a small problem with the plugin. The plugin does a string search of the url (looking for ‘index.php’) to determine if the dashboard is being displayed. If you load the dashboard at the directory level (i.e. yourdomain.com/wordpress/wp-admin/), the widgets won’t show because the string search will return false. I made a minor modification and replaced the ‘strpos’ searches for ‘index.php’ with the elegant is_admin() conditional tag and redirects are not a problem anymore. I think there were 3 instances that needed to be changed.

I’d have reported this on the pressography.com blog itself but you have to register to leave a comment and I’m not a fan.

Widgetized Admin Dashboard : Pressography

Update: May 22, 2008 I’ve disabled this plugin in favor of this Dashboard Widget Manager. There’s no problem (other than the minor redirect issue) with the pressography plugin but the dashboard widget manager puts the settings on the Dashboard tab which I prefer over the Widgets tab. The dashboard widget manager plugin author is a frequent contributor to the WordPress trac and knows the WordPress code quite well. Makes for a lean, efficient plugin.

Leave a Reply

