More on Eventcalendar3 and WP 2.5

Quite a bit of the hits I get here have to do with the EventCalendar3 plugin and getting it to work with WordPress 2.5. It’s really not that tough to make the small changes. I go over to the EC3 mailing list to see what kinds of problems people have with the plugin. Many folks are looking for functionality the plugin just doesn’t have. More people have problems that I don’t experience with my installation so I usually check out their blog to see if I can help.

I am always amazed how many people are running outdated versions of the plugin. Yesterday, I read a couple of support requests. They were running WordPress 2.3.x or 2.5 and EC3 version 3.1.0! I’m surprised EC3 ran at all.

The current version of the plugin is 3.1.1. RC3. Even though the it’s a ‘release candidate’, it works very well with pre-WordPress 2.5 installations. So if you find your way here looking for help with EventCalendar 3, take these simple steps:

  1. Make sure you are running the most recent version of the plugin.
  2. Go to the SourceForge bug/patch directory for EC3 and grab what you need to make it work with WordPress 2.5.
Leave a Reply

